top of page
Search

Pedigree or Experience

I was recently asked a great question that I want to extend to the rest of you; would I be more likely to hire a candidate solely because of their degree? How important is this in my determination? Is there a difference whether this is an Associates degree or a Bachelor's degree?


At that moment; I looked into a mirror, would I hire me just because I have a degree? After all, my degree was obtained in 1998 - not so relevant anymore and to many considered the "stone-age". So, I think this leads to many underlying stipulations and questions before I would hire solely on a degree alone.


My answer: To some extent, I would like to see someone who made the venture and took the "umph" to gain further knowledge and seek more education. This could be through certification classes, internships, degree programs, or any other form or advanced training, but what really matters to me is their experience in the field/area of study. I am hiring on the whole and complete package!


1st and foremost - Do they have an optimistic attitude and personality? - This is critical as we need to ensure we don't bring "poison" into our engaged workplace. When employee are happy and have the "Can Do" attitude, they are much easier to train and are more willing to be open to new ideas.


Will they be a good fit for our company's culture? To build a culture is to build a castle; it takes a lot of hard work by both the company and the employees. Do they believe in your mission and values - have they taken the time to even research what your mission is?


Do they have passion in their position? Do they have "Grit"? Innovation needs this trait to foster growth. A person with passion is an employee on fire and with that comes a sense of empowerment and desire to perform well.


What is their learning style? Are they quick up pick up new responsibilities? - What kind of timeframe will you need to put in for training?


What is their main objective for employment? Will this job be just to make money to pay the bills or are they looking for a personal sense of pride? A reason to better themselves?


Are they customer experience driven? Whatever industry and position you are hiring for, there is a need to have an unwavering sense of customer service for internal and external customers that is key to a successful business.


What does their past employment look like? Gaps? Years of Service in each organization? Will this candidate stay or are they just looking for a quick stop on their way up the ladder?

What has life taught you?


For me, I will hire more for experience than pedigree any day; but I would love to see an effort put forth by a candidate to better themselves. Hire for passion and drive; after all, it was Seth Godin who stated; "People do not buy good and services, they buy relationships, story and magic" and I bet regardless of what industry and what position your are hiring for - you are looking for someone who will help you create that magic and take your organization to the next level.


Applicants - find your passion, your purpose and drive. Reach for what encourages you to be your best self. Grow your knowledge through education and opportunities but remember that attitude and true "grit" will help you achieve your next career!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page